Maryland Criminal Defense Attorney
Maryland Criminal Defense Lawyer Attorney Profile Case Evaluation Frequently Asked Questions Helpful Links Contact Us
Criminal Defense
Blood & Breath Tests
Driver License Suspension
Drug Offenses
Drug Possession
DUI & DWI
Expungement
Juvenile Criminal Cases
Medical Marijuana
Reinstatement Hearings
Traffic Violations
Underage Drinking
Phone:
--
3334 Ellicott Center Drive, Suite 203, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Click To Call Visit Our Blog

Maryland Underage Drinking Attorney

Representing Clients Charged with Under 21 Alcohol Violations

In Maryland, if you are under 21 years of age, you are prohibited from drinking alcohol. In 2009, a new bill was enacted in the state cracking down on underage drinkers and those individuals who provide them with alcohol. House Bill 299 outlaws the consumption of alcohol by those who are less than 21 and criminalizes the act of providing alcohol to such persons. Any adult found guilty of providing alcohol to a person below the age of 21 will face fines of between $1,000 and $2,500. This law applies to parents of underage drinkers as well as others.

If you are facing any criminal charges related to underage drinking in Maryland, it is highly recommended that you contact a Maryland criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of Schulte & Shimek to discuss your case. Our attorneys are fully versed in the laws and court procedures associated with alcohol violations. We can review your situation, advise you on what needs to be done, and represent you in any legal proceedings stemming from the charges. Our firm will always work diligently to help you achieve the most positive case outcome possible.

Under 21 Drinking Violations

Regardless of your age, if a Maryland police officer suspects you of drinking while driving, you will be pulled over on suspicion of a DUI or DWI. If you are under 21, the consequences may be more severe if you are convicted. An alcohol restriction is imposed on your Maryland driver's license. If you test .02 or higher on blood alcohol concentration (BAC), you can be charged with a DWI which can result in serious penalties, including loss of your driving privileges, heavy fines, and increased or canceled auto insurance. You also may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 3 years. This device stops your vehicle from starting if your BAC is above a certain limit.

In any drinking violations, a Maryland underage drinking lawyer at our firm can assess what you are up against, review all of the evidence against you, and work to minimize the consequences.

Contact a Maryland underage drinking attorneyat the firm if you are facing charges involving an under 21 alcohol violation today.